Proceedings of the Board of Trustees
Lockwood School District No. 26
Yellowstone County, Billings, MT
Speical Meeting September 16, 2008
Back to Minutes Home


Chair Susanne Vinton opened the special meeting, called it to order at 12:00 noon, and led those present in the Pledge of Allegiance.

The following trustees and officers were present: Trustees Susanne Vinton, Tim Sather, Greg Bochy, and Becky Malenowsky, Superintendent Eileen Johnson and District Clerk Diane Brook. Trustees Peter Freivalds, Tamara Spillum, and Jason Hamrick were absent.

Primary Principal Mike Bowman and Erin Decker were present. There were no other guests. Mrs. Vinton advised the following:

Any person present who wishes to address the board or raise any question about public school district matters or governing policies may do so under public participation. No discussion of personnel or individual students is permitted at this time. A limit of three minutes is placed on each speaker. Persons who want more time may make arrangements to be placed on a future agenda. The public is also reminded that they may provide input on all motions being considered by the board at this meeting.

The Board of Trustees met in special session to consider Superintendent Johnson’s recommendation to hire Erin Decker for the new kindergarten position. It was noted that this position was added because the current teacher to student ratio in kindergarten is beyond the state accreditation guidelines.

Trustees were advised that Miss Decker has a reading endorsement as well as an elementary education endorsement. The fingerprint background check has been completed for Erin.

Greg Bochy moved to hire Erin Decker. Becky Malenowsky seconded the motion.

Susanne Vinton, Tim Sather, Becky Malenowsky, and Greg Bochy voted yes; the motion passed four to zero.

Becky Malenowsky moved to adjourn the meeting at 12:13 p.m. Greg Bochy seconded the motion. Susanne Vinton, Becky Malenowsky, Tim Sather, and Greg Bochy voted aye; the motion passed.

___________________________     ___________________________
Sue Vinton, Chairperson                       Diane M. Brook, District Clerk

Back to Top