Special Meeting

[Back to Minutes Home]
May 24, 2004

Page 2

CALL TO ORDER                                                               6:07 P.M.

Chairman Tim Trafford called the special meeting to order at 6:07 p.m.  Trustees present were Barbara Forrester Frank, Jim Painter, Tim Trafford, Gayle Walker, Thomas Jones, Greg Bochy, and Teresa Stroebe.  District Clerk Diane Brook and Superintendent Eileen Johnson were also present.  Chairman Trafford led those present in the pledge of allegiance.

Registered guests were:  Becky Webber, Robert Guenther, Evelyn Pyburn, and Attorney Ken Tolliver.  Attorney Bobbi Frazer was also in attendance.


A.  Recommendations for Teachers for 2004-05

Superintendent Johnson made the following hiring recommendations:

Kelly McCann          Computer Application
Karla Steppler           Special Education
Carrie Larson            Special Education
Denise Lemke           Increase to 1.0 FTE from .5 FTE
Carol Dyk                 Increase to 1.0 FTE from .5 FTE    

Eileen said she wanted to complete the hiring at this meeting, so the contracts could be issued.  Gayle Walker asked if fingerprint background checks had been done on each of the new people. Eileen said yes. 

Mrs. Johnson provided an overview of the 2004-05 staff changes with the report she handed out. 

Trustee Jim Painter moved to approve staff changes for 2004-05.  Supt. Johnson advised the motion needed to reflect the hiring of personnel, not just staff changes.  Jim Painter withdrew his motion.

Trustee Painter moved to hire the five people mentioned above per the recommendation of the superintendent. Teresa Stroebe seconded the motion.   Thomas Jones, Greg Bochy, Jim Painter, Tim Trafford, Barbara Forrester Frank, Teresa Stroebe, and Gayle Walker voted aye.  The motion passed unanimously.



EXECUTIVE SESSION                                                          6:17 p.m.

Chairman Trafford called for an executive session for the purpose of legal strategy regarding trial results and possible appeal for: Cause No. CV 01-183-BLG-RFC:  Joe C. McCracken and Leah K. McCracken (Plaintiffs) Versus Lockwood School District #26, and Trustees:  Robert Guenther, Tom Neujahr, Gayle Walker, Teresa Stroebe, and Becky Webber, individually and in their individual capacities as Trustees of Lockwood School District #26.  (Defendants)

OPEN SESSION                                                                     8:42 p.m.

Trustee Teresa Stroebe moved counsel is instructed to cooperate with the district’s carrier in seeking full settlement of all claims subject to coverage, while protecting and preserving the district’s rights to appeal other claims.   Trustee Jim Painter seconded the motion. 

Chairman Trafford called for the vote.  Greg Bochy and Barbara Forrester Frank voted no.  Tim Trafford, Gayle Walker, Jim Painter, Thomas Jones, and Teresa Stroebe voted yes.  The motion passed with five votes in favor and two votes opposed.


Greg Bochy moved to adjourn at 8:45 p.m.  Barbara Forrester Frank seconded the motion.  Thomas Jones, Greg Bochy, Teresa Stroebe, Tim Trafford, Gayle Walker, Barbara Forrester Frank, and Jim Painter voted yes.  The motion passed unanimously.


__________________________________           ________________________________

         Timothy Trafford, Chairman                            Diane M. Brook, District Clerk

[Back to Top]